Stonehenge Line Drawing

I live close to Stonehenge and visit it often, so it’s no surprise that it features heavily in my sketchbook. As I’ve been experimenting recently with silhouettes I decided to give Stonehenge a try and it’s actually rather difficult.

The trouble I found was trying to find a suitable view point that would give me a recognisable outline of the stones. As Stonehenge is a three dimensional piece you don’t have the option of perspective in a silhouette, so it took me a while before I found a suitable spot to draw from.

Stonehenge silhouette drawing

It was drawn hastily in pencil before being tidied up and inked when I returned home. I have since worked on this sketch further working on the night sky as a backdrop.

Leave a Reply

