My New Arcade Cabinet

After three months of tinkering the arcade cabinet is finally complete and I love the way it has turned out. It started out as an idea and a heap of scrap wood (mainly from an old bed) and I basically made it up as I went along.

Inside there is a tiny Pi Zero running Retropie which means there is a large amount of internal space to play around with if I ever decide to add things like a coin slot. The total cost of the build (minus the screen which is my tv from the bedroom that no longer has a bed – see above) the cabinet build has come it at around the £40 mark which I think is pretty good going. The most expensive elements of the build were the controls and the vinyl covering.

Some people have asked me for the plans but unfortunately I don’t have any, it was all built on the fly. I would like to make another one but I think I need a bit of a break first. Besides, I need to get some practice in beating my son at Street Fighter 2!

Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet

5 thoughts on “My New Arcade Cabinet

    1. That is such a great present to receive, one to treasure for sure. Are there any photos of it online that I could see? I love seeing other people’s cabinets that they’ve made.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

